Vegan vs. Vegetarian

The main difference between vegan and vegetarian is the strictness of their diet plan. Vegan does not eat anything that contains meat of any animal whether it is dead or alive and doesn’t use their products, however, vegetarians don’t eat animals but they can eat dairy products (such as milk, yogurt, and egg).

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below
vegan vs vegetarian

Veganism is the stricter form of vegetarianism as vegans avoid very strictly meat, on the other hand, vegetarianism is less strict than veganism.

Veganism and vegetarians are growing in a large ratio in different countries of the world. Many people are choosing these diets because of their health issues or religious restrictions or they don’t want to use any product, by harming animals.

Moreover, vegans and vegetarians have more nutritious and more delicious food, vegetables, nuts, beans, and fruits are very suitable for both diet plans if they are prepared properly.

Comparison chart

Basis VeganVegetarian
DefinitionsVeganism excludes all type of meat (animal, poultry, seafood, honey) and gives a lifestyle that does not include any type of materials derived from animals including leather, fur, wool and silkA vegetarian does not eat food that consists of any type of meat, fish, poultry fish and insects
Dairy Vegan excludes all type of dairy productVegetarians may include dairy products (milk, yogurt) depends on the diet you follow
Eggs Eggs and animal-derived ingredients are excludedEggs may be included depending on the type of the diet you follow
Animals by-productsThey do not consume animals by-products.They may consume animals by-products
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

What is Vegan?

The vegan society defines “veganism is a style of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible, all forms of misuse of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose”.

Vegan is just not a diet, but is a moral objection to the use and exploitation of animals. Vegans not only avoid animal meat, but also they avoid using animal products. Moreover, vegans don’t like such places where animals are used for entertainment such as circuses because they believe that animals should be free from human use. Veganism is a stricter form of vegetarian diet, even vegans don’t consider dairy products because to produce milk, cows must go through great distress and it results in causing physical and emotional harm to animals.

Vegan

Veganism strictly excludes any food that contains:

  • Meat
  • Poultry
  • Egg and yogurt
  • Honey
  • Insects
  • Gelatin and animals protein
  • Stock or any type of animal fat
Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Vegans strictly excludes all products that contain

  • Leather
  • Wool
  • Silk
  • Soaps ( contains animal fat)
  • Candles (contains animal fat)
  • Cosmetics (that test on animals)
  • beeswax

Types of vegans

Ethical vegans: Ethical vegans are very common and they do not consume any type of diary product such as milk, eggs, cheese, and honey and also don’t use those products which are made by animal parts or skin.

Plant base vegans: They use only plants based foods, which only grows from the ground.

Raw vegan: They don’t eat any animal by-product and any food which is cooked above the temperature 115 degree F as the food will lose its nutrients.

What is Vegetarian?

The vegetarian society gives a definition as vegetarians are those who live a life on the diet of pulses, grains, nuts, seeds, vegetables, fruits, legumes, algae, yeast, dairy products, honey or eggs, or other non animal based food.

Vegetarians are less strict than vegan, as there are many variations of the vegetarian diet.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Vegetarian

Vegetarians don’t eat products or by products of animal slaughter, they don’t eat meat such as:

  • beef, pork
  • chicken, duck
  • fish, shellfish
  • insects
  • gelatin or any type of animal protein
  • stock or fats

Vegetarians may eat by products which don’t involve the slaughter of animals such as:

  • eggs
  • milk and yogurt
  • cheese
  • honey

Types of Vegetarian

Lacto-Ovo vegetarians: They do not eat animal flesh from their diet, but may consume eggs and dairy products.

Lacto vegetarians: They do not eat animal flesh and eggs, but may consume dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarian: They do not eat any type of animal products, but do consume eggs.

Pescatarian: They do not eat any type of meat or poultry, but may consume fish or other types of seafood.

Key differences

  1. Vegans don’t use animal-derived products; on the other hand vegetarians may use animal derived products.
  2. Veganism is more strict diet plan they don’t eat dairy products, on the other hand vegetarian being less stricter may use dairy products such as milk, yogurt.
  3. Vegans do not eat eggs, they think egg production is also a cruel act as it is based on mass killing of animals, on the other hand vegetarians can consume eggs.
  4. If a person is looking for a high calcium diet than vegetarian diet is more suitable because it contains more calcium and vitamin B12 than vegans.
  5. For reducing weight, vegan diet work better than vegetarian as well as vegan also reduces the risk of certain diseases.

Comparison Video

Conclusion

Both vegans and vegetarians do not choose to eat any type of meat and fish. However vegans are stricter in their moral values as they don’t want to harm any animal so they don’t use any animal by product whether it is in the cloth form or any type of food such as leather, wool, silk, eggs or honey even they don’t use any type of make-up or skincare product. On the other side, vegetarian diet mostly include fruits, vegetables, nuts, pulses and they eat dairy products also such as cheese, yogurt.

Both diet plans will give you health benefits, helps in reducing weight, maintain lower cholesterol level and helps in decreasing the risk of cardiac diseases.

Leave a Comment