Australian States vs. Territories

Main Difference

The main difference is that the State is generally considered as the authority of Government while Territories referred as the areas which are not demanded by the Government. It can alsosay that the Territory is the part of Australia but not a part of State.

Australian State

australian-statesAustralia has six States in total and by name they are New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. Every State has its own constitution which is divided by Government States into same divisions of legislature, executive, and judiciary by way of the Federal Government.State has right under the constitution that State Government make and passes the laws.Under the section 51 of Australian Constitution the six states Parliament are allowed to pass the laws regarding any matter which is not controllable by Commonwealth. The head of every State Government is called as Premier.

Australian Territory

territoriesThere are total 10 Territories of Australia which is inside the boundaries of the State.  By Australian Government-appointed Administrator, seven Territories are governed by the Common wealth Law only. Namely; Ashmore and Cartier Islands, Australian Antarctic Territory, Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Coral Sea Islands, Jervis Bay Territory, Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands. Two Mainland Territories that is Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and the Northern Territory and the one offshore territory which is Norfolk Island given the limited rights of self-Government by the Federal Government. Outside the Government, the ACT and the Northern Territory usually treated as States due to large population size.

Key Differences

  • States of Australia can make the laws while Territory cannot make.
  • Commonwealth do not control the States as they have right to make their own lawsunder the constitution while Parliament or Australian Government control the Territory
  • Not all Territories but the Northern Territory, the Australian Capital Territory and Norfolk Island have right to some extent in self-governing and rest of them are administrated by Government while State is not administrated by anyone under the constitution.
  • State is referred as the authority of Government while the territory is the part of Australia but not a part of State and it is also the major difference in between of them.
  • Six states are joined together to make Commonwealth of Australia and hold the power of making their laws while not a single state claimed the Territory although it is in the borders of Australia.

Video Explanation

Leave a Comment