What Is Ma Rated

In the world of entertainment, a rating system is a way for guardians, parents, and other audiences to know what sort of materials they’re getting exposed to. To ensure that the right audience receives the appropriate level of entertainment, movie ratings have been around for several decades now. While the Standard rating system is well recognized, various other schemes are also available that also follow their specific ways.

One of these is the MA rating system, which highlights the content material of the movies that might be inappropriate for individuals younger than 17. In this article, we will tell you everything about the MA rating system you need to know.

What Is MA Rated?

The MA rating, which stands for “Mature Audiences,” is a classification of the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) which designates that the movie or series in question is not suitable for people under the age of 17. This is to alert the public that the content of the movie is intended for mature viewers and contains either excessive violence, nudity, drug abuse, adult language, or others.

This rating is not to be mistaken for the R rating. In comparison, the R rating means 17-year-olds should attend the same movie with a designer, with the likelihood that some content may not be appropriate for children. In comparison, MA-rated movies often contain graphic scenes or concepts that are not appropriate for anyone under the age of 17, without exception.

The MPAA is the governing body that manages the movie rating and classification system in the United States. The MPAA continues its mandate to indicate the content and the age group for which a film is intended through its various rating types. The MPAA ultimately decides whether to offer a movie an MA rating or not.

What Does An MA Rating Mean?

The MA rating ensures that the film is intended exclusively for mature adults who are 17 years or older. The content of the movie may contain violence, sexual content, and drug abuse, among other things. Sex and violence are likely to be explicitly displayed as the subject matter takes center stage. So, the MPAA rates a film an MA classification when the content is intended for mature people who are familiar with them.

What Are The Types Of MA Ratings?

Typically, there are no sub-ratings for an MA scale, as opposed to other MPAA classifications like PG or PG-13, which have subtle sub-ratings such as PG-7 or PG-9. Nonetheless, the MA rating system has specific criteria that need to be followed for a movie or series to get MA rated.

Therefore, the following are the types of MA ratings:

MA: This rating implies that the content is only appropriate for mature audiences above the age of 17, and children under that age should not attend.

MA 15+: This rating means that the movie contains excessive violence and is only recommended for mature audiences above the age of 15. It also entails material that is not appropriate for children.

MA 18+: This classification means that the content is exclusively for mature audiences above the age of 18, and is prohibited for children under that age. It might contain explicit sex, and there is a greater probability that nudity will be shown.

Clover your Keywords for MA Rated:

Movie Ratings
MA rating system
Motion Picture Association of America
Mature Audiences
R rating
United States
Explicit sex


The MPAA is accountable for the film rating system. Being a considerably responsible organization, it ensures that the audience is correctly notified of the materials they are exposed to. In this article, we have discussed what MA rating is and explained what it stands for. We also explained how the rating works, including its different types. Therefore, you should be cautious before watching any classified movie or investing any time in a series of MA ratings to ensure that you are mature enough to handle the content.