Amazon Levels Explained

Amazon Levels Explained: A Comprehensive Guide for Buyers and Sellers

In today’s digital age, Amazon has truly become an online shopping giant, with millions of products available to customers worldwide. As a result, Amazon has implemented a tiered system that helps to separate the top-performing sellers and products from the rest. This system is known as Amazon Levels, and it’s essential for buyers and sellers to understand it thoroughly to get the most out of the platform.

In this article, we will present a comprehensive guide to Amazon Levels that covers everything from its background to its benefits, and we will also focus on how it impacts users’ overall experience.

What is Amazon Levels?

Amazon Levels is a ranking system that Amazon uses to distinguish between different sellers and products based on their performance on the platform. This system is put in place to measure sellers’ and products’ performance and ensure consistent and excellent customer service that encourages buyers to return to the platform.

Amazon measures sellers’ and products’ performance using various metrics, including customer feedback, order defect rate, response time to customer inquiries, and many others. These metrics help Amazon’s algorithm to rank each seller and products based on their performance.

Amazon Levels for Sellers

Amazon Levels is a three-tiered ranking system for sellers, which includes basic, standard, and premium. Each level comes with different benefits and obligations that sellers should be aware of.

Basic Sellers

Basic sellers are new to Amazon, and they can sell up to 30 products per month. They have limited access to various features of the Amazon marketplace, including the Buy Box, Amazon PPC, and various other promotions. Additionally, Basic sellers are required to show a strong customer-centric approach and customer satisfaction by following Amazon’s policies and procedures.

Standard Sellers

Standard sellers can sell more than 30 products per month, and they have access to various features that Basic sellers don’t have. They are eligible to participate in most Amazon promotions, including the Buy Box, Amazon PPC, and other Amazon Prime features. Additionally, Standard sellers are required to maintain high performance metrics on customer service, sales metrics, and order processing metrics, which include order accuracy, canceled orders, refund and return targets, and many others.

Premium Sellers

Premium sellers are Amazon’s top-performing sellers, and they sell more than 2,000 products per month. They have access to all Amazon features, including the Buy Box, Amazon PPC, and many other promotions. Additionally, Premium sellers are required to maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction, including excellent product quality, prompt delivery, and other customer service metrics.

Amazon Levels for Products

Amazon Levels also rank products based on their performance, and they are divided into three tiers: Standard, Choice, and Best. Let’s take a closer look at each tier.

Standard Products

Standard products represent the vast majority of products on Amazon. They are most likely new to the platform, and they have yet to establish a reputation or customer rating. They rank at the bottom of the tier, and they have lower visibility than other products on the platform.

Choice Products

Choice products represent the middle tier of Amazon’s product ranking system. They are established products on the platform, with high sales and customer ratings. Amazon uses metrics such as product quality, delivery time, and customer satisfaction to rank products as Choice products.

Best Products

Best products are the top-ranked products on Amazon, and they represent the most popular and in-demand products on the platform. They have a high customer rating, a high order volume, and they are often the most visible products on the platform.

Benefits of Amazon Levels

As mentioned, Amazon Levels offer several benefits for both sellers and buyers. Let’s take a look at some of these benefits:

For Sellers

– Increased visibility – The higher you rank in the Amazon Levels, the better visibility your products will have on the platform.
– Access to Amazon Prime – Higher-ranked sellers can participate in Amazon Prime, which offers Amazon’s most loyal customers free two-day shipping, access to streaming services, and other perks.
– Better chance of earning the Buy Box – Amazon’s algorithm gives preference to sellers who maintain high performance metrics, which increases their chances of earning the Buy Box.
– Access to promotions – Higher-ranked sellers can participate in promotions like Amazon PPC, which helps increase their visibility and sales.

For Buyers

– Assurance of quality – Amazon’s ranking system ensures that buyers see the best products and sellers at the top of their search results.
– Better customer service – Amazon’s algorithm rewards sellers who provide excellent customer service, ensuring that buyers receive prompt responses and solutions to their problems.
– More choices – With Amazon Levels, buyers have access to more products on the platform, allowing them to find everything they need in one place.


Amazon Levels help to ensure that Amazon remains one of the top shopping destinations for customers worldwide. It provides sellers with access to valuable features and promotions, and it ensures that buyers can purchase high-quality products from reliable sellers. By understanding Amazon Levels, sellers and buyers can benefit from a more efficient shopping experience on this platform.